CrazyBoards.org

In my early 30's I worked as an adm asst in the Dept of Nuclear Medicine at a University Hospital nearby.

I started having symptoms of hypothyroidism after I got married and was trying to have a baby. I had symptoms

of hypothyroidism, in hindsight, but at the time, I wasn't aware that dry skin, tiredness, and lots of other

things were signs of hypothyroidism. I was tested with TSH and was 11 and put on Synthroid. I got

pregnant a couple of months later. Anyway, I worked right down the hall from a "hot lab" I was never on

Lithium for more than a few weeks. I don't know how long it takes for lithium to mess up the thyroid gland

but I will never know whether or not my working in close proximity to radioactive nuclear isotopes made for

my hypothyroidism to go full throttle. I still take Synthroid 137 mcg and will, of course, have to take it the

rest of my life. So, with bipolar and hypothyroidism, I have had my hands full, not to mention hypertension, and

osteoarthritis.

I wish I knew if working where I worked caused the hypothyroidism, or whether it was a coincide, but I guess I

will not ever truly know the answer.

Yeah, radiation and Lithium can both mess with the Thyroid.. though I believe radiation is more likely to cause a goiter moreso than Hypothyroidism. It was probably already in the genes and both contributed. I'd grown up with Hypo symptoms without being diagnosed.. but the lab range was higher than it is now when I had my tests done. So it's quite possible I was borderline anyway, and the Lithium just made it more pronounced. I got up to a 9 and couldn't function. Now I medicate with Aurmor Thyroid to around 1.5ish. I'm just glad it's easily treated and that I can pretty much ignore it now.