CrazyBoards.org

ASD, Mood episodes, stress and sensory processing

This may sound random, but really, I am not sure if it is.

As we know, most people on the spectrum have sensory processing issues, however in the last few months they have been getting out of control, things that I could tolerate this time last year or even before I have no way of tolerating short of my ipod.

However I am in my final year in Uni, and been having a suspicious "high mood" episode since Feb, so was wondering. Could that make the sensory processing worse.

Has anyone else had the same experience?

Makes it worse for me.

Lately it's been like every single hair on my neck has made its personal business to make its presence loudly known to the skin on my neck. Every strand is just touching me more than it should. It's touchier than just touching. There needs to be a word for this. It's so distracting. Add in the fact that if I have to feel my clothes and socks and bra squeezing the life out of me for one more minute I might snap, and it tends to make the entire situation worse than it would be otherwise, I think. And that's not to mention everything else that seems amped up to 11. Ugh.

The only thing I can do is find something with which to distract myself.

Going back on meds soon....

• 1 month later...

Yes, I have. When I was a small child, my tactile sense was the most sensitive. I refused to wear socks (and, when I could help it, clothes in general...) and my mother had to cut the tags out of my shirts and pants. When my parents kissed me, I had to wipe it off because of the "wet" feeling. Hugs were irritating.