CrazyBoards.org

Should I look for another pdoc?

Just wondering, I am very new to the world of psychiatrists... I was referred by my GP to my current pdoc around mid-July 2010. When I first saw him, he said I had bipolar tendancies and added abilify and lunesta, I was already taking pristiq 50mg and xanax 1mg when needed... I saw him last friday and he said he would treat me for bipolar I and ADD .. I have been in a very bad state of depression for the past 2-3 weeks. He put me on saphris which I HATE and adderall.

So, since I am so new to this, I was wondering what pdocs normally do when you see them? Do they pretty much talk with you for a few minutes and ask you a few questions and then put you on meds or adjust your meds (which is what my doc has been doing), or is there more to it? I just want to make sure I am getting the care that I need with this pdoc...

I am just so confused and unsure.. I just want to feel "normal"

Some pdocs still do talk therapy while prescribing meds, other just prescribe with little talking aside from what's related to the meds. I've been to both. My current pdoc spends about 30 min talking with me about my life, what's going on, my symptoms, etc. and another 15 minutes or so talking specifically about meds. Your pdoc seems to take the latter approach. It doesn't mean that he's a bad practitioner, it just means that's his style. I suggest finding a therapist in addition to your pdoc so that you have a place to talk about things that might be bothering you.

I've never experienced a pdoc doing talk therapy. From experience i'd have a 15-30 minute appointment to discuss how i'm going, if anything bad has happened, symptoms and medications and then we'd either adjust medication or just keep it as it is. Sometimes pdocs can still do talk therapy, but it really differs.