CrazyBoards.org

Worried about job

I just started a new job after being on short term disability for the past 6 months. (I’m a nurse case manager working in the health insurance field.) Being in new-job learning mode has always been extremely stressful for me, but my brain seems to just freeze up and I‘m having difficulty retaining information. It may be just the anxiety, but I suspect it’s my medications. I’m on Lamictal, Equetro (Tegretol), Geodon and Nuvigul, most of which make me exceedingly stupid and cognitively impaired. Out of desperation, I’ve decreased the Tegretol and Geodon (My pdoc allows this.) but I don’t know if this will even help. Is anyone here struggling with similar circumstances? I really fear I won’t be able to keep this job or withstand the stress.

Hi CertainlySandy,

First off I want to say congratulations on the new job! I take Tegretol and lamotrigine (Lamictal) along with many other meds, and I know what you mean about the cognitive problems. However, I really do think it isn't as bad as we fear it is. I think your problem is mostly the anxiety associated with the new job, and I can tell that your anxiety is considerable just by reading your post. Try to get in to see your pdoc as soon as possible to get something for the anxiety. Don't worry so much. No one is perfect, and we all make mistakes. In fact, it's expected that we make mistakes when trying something new. Soon you will get the hang of everything and then you will be the expert teaching a new person.

Oh and I forgot, a piece of practical advice: Make notes to yourself on everything and then review them at home where the pressure is off!

It could be the meds. Or it could be anxiety. Either way, I suspect you'll learn to roll with it.

What have you tried in order to keep yourself organized and from forgetting things? For me, writing down/typing up things helps. I also set a lot of alarms on my Outlook calendar - such as making phone calls, doing reports, meetings, etc.