CrazyBoards.org

Waiting Anxiously

Hi, all. I am new to this board. This is not really a question, just what I'm going through.

I have had attention problems through my whole life. I was almost held back in second grade, because I was so hopelessly behind on the work. I have never been able to use my time productively, except for a few brief periods of hyperproductivity that lasted about 6 months each. I am a computer programmer by training, but I have never been able to be productive at it for any length of time. This led to my losing my first job after college. I worked at a completely different kind of job for a few years, but I am currently unemployed.

My experience of psychiatry spans about five or six years, if you ignore a false start in about 2003. By the time I saw a pdoc, I was severely depressed and suffering from a lot of anxiety. I have been on antidepressants the whole time. Attention problems, of course, can be caused by almost any psychiatric illness. In particular, it's a symptom of MDD and anxiety disorders. This clouded the picture, and has allowed my pdocs (there have been several) to avoid treating me for ADD with stimulants, which many doctors prefer to avoid. I also admitted to varying amounts of illicit drug use to different doctors, which makes them suspicious.

Right now, I feel like I'm at the point where something has to give. At every job that I've ever held, concentration and lack of time management has been a major issue. I should be working hard to find a new job right now, but I hate going to an interview and trying to convince somebody to give me a chance, when I know that sooner or later my attention problems will become serious, and they will undoubtedly regret hiring me. I can usually manage to be a good employee for a while, but this is while being a good employee is the sole focus of my life, and I can't keep that up forever.