CrazyBoards.org

Does lithium become less effective as a person gets older?

I've been taking lithium religiously since I was 18 years old (1200 mg/day). I'm 51 years old now. I don't have thyroid or kidney problems. I'm Bipolar II. I've never been hospitalized. I graduated from college with a BS in chemistry and have maintained a fairly sucessfull career. Throughout my life I would always have issues with depression where I would always ask a psychiatrist for help. I don't seem to have issues wirh hypomania. I've tried mood stabilizers, anti-depressants, anti- psychotics which never seemed to help "lift my mood". I'm taking only lithium now for the past 3 years (still 1200 mg/day).

Lately, I've been feeling depressed lacking in self confidence and lately my thinking hasn't been clear and I seem to be indecisive. I feel these symptoms are being noticed by others at work now. I think these symptoms are due to the hypomanic or depressive phases of the bipolar and it seems unlikely that they would be from lithium side effects.

I'm curious to know if Lithium carbonate looses it's effectiveness over time? Over the 33 years that I've been taking it, my lithium level has been regularly at 0.6 meq/liter. If I increase it, do you think these negative issues will improve?

Thanks