CrazyBoards.org

Racing Thoughts At Night

Hi all! I am new to CB. I am curious if anyone else experiences this and what helps. I get racing thoughts every night when I am lying in bed trying to go to sleep. This happens every night. Does anyone else experience this? It's like once my body is in the lying down position, my mind starts racing. I also experience high anxiety while lyiing down.

Very, very much so. I hear little snippets of random conversation mostly. I used to think they were hallucinations but apparently they can be racing thoughts. I worry about the next day and get all these ideas about what I can do tomorrow.

If I read for awhile, it usually calms me down. Sometimes nothing works, though. I wish I could help you.

Sometimes, if my mood is higher. It can be music or just my eyeballs darting around whether my eyes are closed or not. I pretty much know when it's going to happen b/c of my mood so I'll take a Klonopin before bed. Any other day I go for the trazodone.

Hi,

Could it be because you're avoiding the things you're anxious about until you lay down, when you have no distractions to divert you from your anxiety? I have a similar experience, I try to tackle my issues during the day, talk to someone about them that evening to clear my head, journal or make sure I do relaxation exercises before bed. If all else fails, occasionally I'll take a sleeping pill.

Hi all! I am new to CB. I am curious if anyone else experiences this and what helps. I get racing thoughts every night when I am lying in bed trying to go to sleep. This happens every night. Does anyone else experience this? It's like once my body is in the lying down position, my mind starts racing. I also experience high anxiety while lyiing down.