CrazyBoards.org

Treatment Resistant Depression Go Away! Any suggestions?

Hi! I am new to the boards...thrilled.to find them... i have been on almost every ssri/snri for depression including MAOIS ( of course had a cardiac crisis and had to stop them cold turkey- bad drugs too) and had ECT ( never ever do that)....still the major depression continues despite getting phenomenal care from the best guys at Harvard.... Newly diagnosed with ADD and have been put on Adderall to help with concentration, attention, memory (which was lost due to ect)...I think the adderall is helping my add symptoms but I am not sure...could it be giving me worse anxiety? I take ativan as needed ( I am a nurse so I am pretty up to date with currents meds etc)....They just increased my adderall dose to help augment my wellbutrin and help me be less depressed. They want it to lift me up.... It doesn't seem to be working. I am just as teary and emotional as ever. I am taking something for my dopamine and norepinephrine levels but nothing for seratonin....Does anyone take drugs for all the neurotransmitters? I feel like taking an SSRI might be helpful but my doctor is reluctant to add another medication to my mix. I can't believe I am still so emotional while taking all of these drugs....Sometimes I just cry so hard i shake....I am 36 and having been out of work for almost 2 years trying to get better...I would love to hear anyone elses experiences or advice....I would like my life back, I would like to feel better...Thanks for reading my post and happiness to you all!

Welcome to the boards!

I'm sorry that you are feeling so bad with no relief. I'm in the same situation. Yes, you should talk to your doctors about adding an AAP into the mix. I'm sure you've heard of the AAP Abilify, but there are others that help with depression. I've found that when ADs don't work, it is necessary to turn to other drugs such as AAPs and anticonvulsants.