CrazyBoards.org

OK, I'll try to be concise, sigh.....My depression in the past has manifested with severe anxiety, no feelings of despair or sadness, other than "my life sucks with all this anxiety". I was on Paxil for about 11 years, with good results for the anxiety. Early this year, I noticed an increasing feeling of despair and sadness, feelings of "what's the point, I have nothing to look forward to, this will never get any better, etc". Obviously, the Paxil (30mg) wasnt doing the job. Now, my life DOES suck, as my husband and I have been raising our 2 granddaughters , now age 6 and 9, for the past 5 years, due to a father (my son) who cant pull himself together (read LOSER), and a mom in prison due to drugs and related felonies. This is a second marriage for me, and my DH, God love him, is no relation to these children but is wildly in love with them and determined to be the best thing that ever happened to them, which he is. I, on the other hand, want nothing to do with child raising ever again. When I was younger, all I ever wanted was to be a mom, and I was raised to believe, that love, hard work and consistent discipline were the keys to success. I worked VERY hard, feel like I did all the right things (no one is perfect, but DAMN, I tried)yet managed to raise a man (now 31) who cant even support himself, much less 2 children, despite very high intelligence. I have beat myself up about this for years, but have come to realize that he is who he is, despite a good upbringing. I do also have a 25 year old daughter, who is every parent's dream......Anyway, I love my granddaughters, but at age 57, I want to come home from work and relax, etc etc.DH does the bulk of the work, but is a poor disciplinarian and the girls are very spoiled. My house is a continuous trainwreck, and I cant keep up. I have given up even trying, which leads to more despair. I KNOW what needs to be done, and while I'm sure DH would cooperate, I just dont have the will or motivation to un