CrazyBoards.org

Lexapro and double vision?

Hi all,

I started taking Lexapro (5mgs daily)) approx 3 weeks ago. This last week my dose was increased to 10mgs daily.

Since this increase Ive been experiencing severe bouts of double vision 3 or 4 times a day.

They only last for 1 to 2 mins each time, but are very disorientating.

Prior to Lexapro i was taking Fluoxetine for 5 years (40mgs daily), with no visual side effects.

Has anyone experienced or heard of this side effect with Lexapro?.. should I consider changing meds, or will this pass with continued use?.

Not sure what way to go, and any advice would be greatly appreciated!.

Found on drugs.com:

Seek medical attention right away if any of these SEVERE side effects occur when using Lexapro:

Severe allergic reactions [...] vision changes; worsening of depression.

I'd talk to your doctor RIGHT AWAY.

I mean, not to scare you, I don't think you have to go to the emergency room or anything (I AM NOT A DOCTOR) but definitely call your doctor on Monday. If it were me, I'd do it before I took the pills.

Thanks guys - really appreciate the feedback.

My docs not going to be happy.. he prescribed effexor for me in January, and I had a rare allergic reaction to it.. now it looks like Lexapro isnt agreeing with me either!.

I havent taken any today... I'll contact my doc again tomorrow.

If you have only tried one other med, I wouldn't worry about your doctor being angry. There are a lot more to try, and you wouldn't be the first person to have trouble with the first two, or even the first three meds tried.

If you have only tried one other med, I wouldn't worry about your doctor being angry. There are a lot more to try, and you wouldn't be the first person to have trouble with the first two, or even the first three meds tried.

Good to hear.. been feeling like a bit of a hopless case lately!