CrazyBoards.org

Why is there a facebook icon?

Ok this isn't a suggestion, but just wondering what's up with the "Share this topic" at the bottom of threads and icons including a FACEBOOk icon.

I really do not want to click that by mistake. I seriously don't want to share my topics and posts here on my FB, LOL.

Oh and I'm not a newbie, just have another username and been away from the boards for over a year, there didn't used to be options to share on FB back then.

I keep having to check my FB after Ive posted something on here, in case it ends up in my newsfeed.

Some of the stuff is to let you use your facebook login here so you don't have to create a new one and remember another password, just like a lot of sites are doing now.

Like it or not, search engines are how people find us. The way you rank higher in search engines is to have people link to you on other websites. All the various share buttons are there to encourage people to create links to us on various social media sites. It's the best way to insure we have a steady influx of new visitors. 95% of this site's page hits, and therefore advertising revenue, comes from unregistered guests who are looking for information on a particular topic. In order to keep that traffic we've got to keep our search engine rankings at least sorta high. I'm not trying to strike it rich here, just pay the bills. I'm living well below the poverty level with no insurance. If I can't pay rent each month, the site goes away and I have to get a job at Burger King.

Any blog that's not accessible to google, which is most of them, is technically a money loser btw. I'm paying for the resources without getting anything back. That cost has to be made up by monetizing the rest of the content on the boards.

• 7 months later...