CrazyBoards.org

Starting abilify is not going smoothly

Pdoc and I have been talking for at least 6 months about adding abilify or lithium to my mix. I hated celexa and I just finished a month-long taper off it, so now was the time to add something back in. But I'm miserable. First: the brain zaps which I assume are from celexa withdrawal - they are sheer hell. It's been two weeks since I went totally off and yet the brain zaps/shivers continue unabated. And the dizziness is unrelenting as well. Doesn't matter if I'm standing, sitting, lying down, eyes open, eyes closed; no matter what, I'm dizzy. I couldn't decipher what was SSRI withdrawal versus signs of being in a mixed state. Either way, I've been in hell. So I called pdoc and told him it was time.

I started 5mg two days ago. I'll do that for a week, then go to 10mg / day. Pdoc said to take it in the morning. Pharmacist said take it later in the day or after dinner. I went with pdoc's recommendation. I should have listened to the pharmacist! I have been so ridiculously sedated. Like off-the-charts sedated. I didn't go to work today because I was so sedated and miserable. I feel like I've got lead in my veins and it takes all the energy I have (which is nearly nil) just to hold my head up.

I can't do this. I can't keep this up. I work. I have small kids. I can't do this.

Luckily, I have tomorrow off. I think I'm going to take my abilify tomorrow early afternoon, then I'll take it Tuesday after work. That way I can transition from taking it in the morning to taking it in the evening. Time will tell.

And to add to the fun: pdoc gave me more ativan and told me to take 0.5-1mg 1-2x/day. I'm already so sedated and now I'm supposed to take ativan?? Anyways, I did because I was feeling anxious and nauseaous.

Please tell me this gets better!

k

definitely take it at night if its making you sleepy, and best of luck with your new meds :)