CrazyBoards.org

I am a first year graduate student getting a Master of Fine Art. I am so excited to be in the program... I have a teaching assistantship, so it is a dream come true, especially after having a couple of psychotic breaks recently.

However I have had a TERRIBLE time socially. I moved with my girlfriend who is rightly very strict about not wanting me to drink (I am on risperdone for schizoaffective disorder which interferes with alcohol use) so I can't drink. Not drinking has made me feel a bit like an outsider in that I don't want to be in bars because I know I will drink. I don't usually enjoy going to bars anyway unless I go with a group I'm pretty familiar with, though. I have posted about this some already.

Anyway, I have been working in the art studio... they are almost like art studio cubicles in that there are a lot in one room without full lenth walls... about thirty of them in one space... And I have literally overheard someone in the next studio talking about me, which has made me paranoid a lot of the time when I hear conversations going on in the room. I am not sure if this means I should increase my meds... Even if I don't have paranoia attached to overhearing coversations I find them distracting and I dislike other people being able to overhear my meetings with professors. I also HATE that every time I want to go in and work it means that I have to be social and make small talk with people I don't know very well... And I am so bad at small talk, etc. as I am very shy.

I feel like such a prude compared to all of my classmates in that I am solitary and do not want to party... especially because I'm afraid of getting myself in a situation that might trigger psychosis. I have my girlfriend at least which keeps me grounded. I sometimes want to confide in people about my mental illness but have not and don't know if I will unless I have to.