CrazyBoards.org

Neighbor Social Anxiety

Sigh

I've lived in a neighborhood for nearly a year now. In the spring we met the neighbors. It seems as though some people know and like each other, even seems a little cliquey. Also, the neighbors host gatherings as a way to be inclusive, I think. Anyhow, there is a neighbor who has made all sorts of off color remarks toward me, including correcting how I talk to my kids (she's a teacher and will change a word for me even though she claims I'm parenting well...), what I do for a living (SAHM working independently a little on the side), the fact that my husband saved us money by building a patio and on an on. This woman complains about so much more and, IMO, has a serious chip on her shoulder. I can't explain it, it's just that I've had red flags going off pretty much since I've met her. I've tried my best to ignore her and even hide from her when I can because she was driving me nuts. She still sought me out, surprisingly, to talk regularly.

Well, a month ago, we had an incident where her daughter tried to shove mine off of a playscape (6 year old trying to push a 3 year old). I made the mistake of confronting the parents (this woman and her husband) and now I'm not a nice person and she keeps her kids away from mine, which is hard to do because there's a common play area and she's directly behind us. I've since learned that you cannot confront parents and, instead, have to ignore bad behaviors from kids. You can only control your own child and keep them separate if I'm not comfortable, etc. This is proper ettiquette. I'm new to having kids play with neighbors....