CrazyBoards.org

Hair loss on concerta but not on ritalin?

Hi, i have been taking ritalin for few years, it worked great, but i feel that had to up the dose too much to feel same effects as on the beginning. I decided to change to concerta a few months ago, since i started concerta i,m having lots of hair loss and thinning hair. When i was on ritalin never affected my hair. No changes in diet since i,m on concerta, no weight loss, thyroid it,s fine. How it,s this possible if concerta and ritalin are the same compound just change the released time?. Anyone else have this problem? Anyone could know why happens this? Thanks

I have no choice but to answer this via my training as a biologist (I'm by no means a doctor, though)...

So my question is... you say you switched to Concerta because you had to go on too high a dose of conventional methylphenidate. Was your dose of conventional methylphenidate reduced when you switched to Concerta (example -- did you go from taking 20mg methylphenidate 3 times daily for a total of 60mg to just say, 36mg Concerta once daily... or did you up it to 72mg Concerta?). That was just an example, of course, and you should assess the quantity of meds you've been taking. That's not doctor's advice, it's just my experience, especially since I've had dose-dependent side effects with other medications. Have you tried going to a lower dose of Concerta? The fact that this pill exposes you to a constant level of methylphenidate for an extended period of time could affect things. What it could affect, I'm not sure.

Lastly, I did find one goopy biological paper about methylphenidate toxicity, which said that at daily doses of 50 mg/kg (which the authors claim is 5 times the maximum daily dose given to children), that caged lab rats experienced (amongst other, more dire things) some degree of hair loss:

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12270592

Probably not a reason to go panic, but maybe it will put a piece of rationale into your puzzle.