CrazyBoards.org

Acceptance and Commitment Therapy

So I'm 16-sessions in doing Acceptance and Commitment therapy. I like it. I think it makes complete sense. But I'm not very good at it. I really have trouble connecting with the present and I have not developed my Observer Self. I tend to be too analytical and I am forever analysing and planning ahead. It's frustrating me because I thought I'd have more success by now. One of my biggest issues is that when I get anxious, I just go into Anxiety-Mode and it results in panic and anger and I really don't want those behaviours modelled to my children, so it is imperative that I get this under control.

I also think my tdoc could spend more time doing activities with me and less time talking. That soudns awful but I think some sessions are too talky - me talking in response to her questions - and I just want to focus on developing the skills. That could just be me being impatient though!

Is there anyone else doing this therapy?

How do you find it? What do you think?

Bern :)

Hi Bern!!

Nice to see you again!!

We were discussing learning about different models of therapy and you posted at the perfect time!!

I looked at that website and its a bit complicated for my time of 1:30 am. But I would love to learn more about it. I'm finding that 'mindfulness' can mean lots of different things. I can see the difficulty of this type of therapy. It may be very good, but for the patient it could be difficult to wrap one's mind around these concepts and then actually utilize them.

Keep going and Good Luck!!

db

December_brigette! so nice to see another familiar name. I have been thinking about you. I hope you and your little one are well?