CrazyBoards.org
Sign in to follow this  
seaneen_molloy

Living with the scars, and accepting them.

I haven't self harmed in 3 years but I have severe scarring on my arm. It is not ignorable, it is very noticeable. Even after all these years, some are bright purple.

I have studiously kept my arms covered for half my life. In the summer I wear long sleeves and itch and burn, at home I don't even take my top off.

I'm currently a nursing student and my next placement is medical (I'm a mental health student, usually we don't wear uniforms). On this placement I will have to wear short sleeves. This is the biggest horror I can think of facing, unless someone throws a dog into the mix.

I spoke to my tutor about it, and although she is going to arrange a long sleeved top (I will still have to pull my sleeves up) and speak to the ward, her advice, like everyone elses', has been that I need to accept myself. That my body is a bit different, and that's okay, and the scars are marks I have survived, not that I am weak or mad or etc.

I find this so hard to believe and to accept. I know I need to face it, I know I need to accept it. I'm getting married in August and I'm going to roast in my long sleeves and it makes me feel very sad.

I am trying. I have a habit of wearing a big coat at all times (I had body dysmorphic disorder and this is a hangover from those days when I used to cover as much of myself as possible and always have a hat and coat) but in the past few days I've been taking it off. I've been trying to roll my sleeves up, too, to the elbow, to get used to it.

Does anyone hear wear their sleeves up? How do you cope with comments? Was there a time that, like me, you couldn't wear them up and if so, what changed?

Thank you. x