Job Interview: help requested

I have a job interview. What the heck does one wear to that? I'm currently thinking black pants and a stripped shirt, or a black knee-length skirt and umm... a shirt of some kind? I need guidelines or assistance!

I definitely agree with the "shirt of some kind".

I think it depends a little bit on what the job is, but it never really hurts to be more professionally clad than the people you are interviewing with.

Okay. It's an entry level position where you are basically assisting the receptionist (the receptionist works part-time so there is some of that, too). But it's for the government and I've never worked with them before (I've only ever worked in factories; standards are different there). I have hung around their buildings so I think that I sort of understand the black pants/nice shirt with buttons idea.

And don't worry - I wasn't going to take advantage of our legal toplessness!

ETA I think the issue is that I don't know what "professional attire" looks like outside of watching these people go for lunch breaks. I think I need to google some images.

Professional attire can vary widely. Especially if a place considers itself business casual. That can mean anything from jeans to a formal pant suit.

I'd go with a skirt and a nice top. Even if the person interviewing is sitting there in khaki's, you will have made the impression that you cared enough to dress like you want the job.

I can put a top with a skirt and then add a necklace or a scarf and it looks great but takes no effort at all. I think the shirt and black skirt sound good. An understated necklace or a simple bracelet is also fine. Good-looking shoes that aren't sneakers or flip-flops are necessary. Clean, short fingernails, a firm handshake, and look the person in the eye when you speak to her---do those few simple things and you'll make a good impression.