Hey guys.

A friend of mine recommended me to this forum, and I thought I'd make an intro post. I'm hoping to get to know people here and sort of be forced to interact and talk about shit, instead of just...hiding. Story of my life; hiding all of my problems.

I'm 29 at the end of the month and I've had a really rough 20's. In the past I've been diagnosed with severe depression, anxiety, bipolar and now, finally, PTSD. I was molested by my ex-stepfather for around 10-15 years (can't remember some stuff when i was younger) and kept silent until a few years ago.

I don't know why, but I somehow repressed all of the shit that happened and after I moved out to go to college and my mother divorced my stepfather, I just went on with life like nothing ever happened. I got my bachelors, had a serious 6 year relationship with the loveliest person who has ever existed in this world, and began my Masters.

It was then that something happened. My depression and insomnia (something I've had all my life) became so severe I couldn't get out of bed. Medication worked at first, but then things got worse and my life fell apart. I knew why... I knew I had never faced what happened with my stepfather...

So I overdosed and was hospitalized numerous times instead of dealing with the problem. Being diagnosed bipolar fucked with my mind and the meds made into someone I wasn't.

Now I've told my secret to my family, stopped overdosing (kind of), and have not been hospitalized in over a year. My insomnia has gotten pretty bad... and I'm going against everything my psych wants by smoking pot to make some of my anxiety go away (I can't have anxiety meds like Xanax because I somehow just... overdose on them the second the pharmacy gives me the bottle).

What do you guys think about smoking pot for anxiety or things like depression and PTSD? I've found it's made my life... brighter, cheerier and I somehow feel inspired to get things done and socialize like a normal human being.