CrazyBoards.org

Sign in to follow this  
bubblegirl

I don't know who I am.

Now that I am off of AAPs I am free of so many ugly side effects I've had for years, including wiping out my memory. My pdoc keeps reminding me of how much "better" I am doing now that I am off of them. I guess he means that both of my eyes are open now, I can think to form a complete sentence and I'm not crapping all over myself at random times - to mention a few. He has told me point blank that I will not be "getting myself back" any time in the near future.

The problem is I have no idea who I am. From one moment to the next I communicate differently, I act differently, I handle situations differently - even though they are basically the same kind of situation. I respond to input without any reference to how I might have responded in the past; geese, I have no reference. I find myself pretending to be someone I am not. It is very hard to respond to people in conversation when I have no background to draw upon. The ACs have me flat, no emotion. My tdoc's response is that I have to rebuild my life. That's it. That is the guidance I have.

My two grown kids keep reminding me that I am not myself. That they want their mother back. It's hard to do that without a memory of who I was.

This is depressing. I don't know who I am.

I am not sure if I have experienced the same thing or not. I know I have gone through periods where I feel socially wreckless- I don't know what I'm doing or how I'm behaving or why. I don't feel "like myself" but can't figure out exactly how I feel.

One suggestion i have, and I have nothing to back this up, it's just a feeling that it might be a good idea:

Spend more time with your kids if you can.

Talk with them about what they mean when they say they want their mother back. How are you now compared to how you used to be? What is it that is upsetting them?

What are some fond memories they have of you all spending time together?