CrazyBoards.org

Sign in to follow this  
Likeabowlof0ranges

Irregular but controlled spending

Hi I have a pattern of spending which is odd. It usually happens when I'm hypomanic / manic. I've never spent myself into any trouble, I can't afford to do that. I'm only a student, so what might seem like no money to you may be quite a lot to me.

I do this thing where I will withdraw set amount, go home and leave the card there. It's usually $50 and allow myself to spend it on whatever crap I want without repercussion, I don't beat myself up for it, even though I usually budget well. I usually do this at a department store, or the $2 store or the supermarket sometimes. I like to control the environment, to be sure I won't be tempted. But at the same time I get an incredible rush from doing this. I love it, and I usually buy useless rubbish. Is this a dangerous behaviour? I feel that it satisfies that urge to spend up, and can distract me from doing worse things. I'm just seeking opinion and insight.

The only danger I see is if it escalates. Even non-MI people can have what they call blow money - a small amount that they can blow on whatever. I think it's good that you leave the card at home and only take cash - when you're out of cash that's it no more spending.

I think the fact that you can restrain yourself from bringing the card and buying more is a good thing. When I have extra money I like doing that too, it's like a treat. That's okay as long as it's controlled.

I think the way you're doing it is fantastic: you budget, you don't carry your card thereby forcing yourself to stick to your limits, and you restrict yourself to places where you won't blow it all on one item.