CrazyBoards.org

The Wall

I go without sleep a lot. I'm a student and I have ADHD and GAD and depression and meds to treat those conditions, plus I am hopelessly in love with Diet Coke, so this is not surprising.

I do okay in the dead of night - I can even be productive! - but come around five or six a.m. and suddenly I am freaking out. Everyone in the world hates me and they are talking behind my back. If I get off my couch I will wake the people who live below me. There are little bitty spiders crawling on the wall behind my head.

And then I have the panic attack.

Um...I don't know. Is this normal? Please don't tell me more sleep would help becuase I know it would, but I just CAN'T. Not right now.

Normal? Under the circumstances, at least, neither unusual or surprising.

But. . .spiders on the wall are not cool. Panic attacks more or less every day, that's got to take more out of you than you can afford to lose. Sleep deprivation over a long period of time makes people sick. . .or sicker. Every time I've pushed things this far in response to pressure, I've fallen apart: either I get pneumonia (the specialty of the house), or I get so depressed I can't do anything. I also get mean. I mean really mean.

People also get to the point where they have to drop out of school altogether.

Staying up is your response to the pressure. And it seems to be working. But sometimes the cure is worse than the disease. Be careful, please, be careful; or something's going to give.

And please give some thought (when you can!!) to the possibility that there's more going on here than just the usual crap that goes with being a student.

Hope  at least that the spiders go away.

tom