CrazyBoards.org

Now I have Meds

Im Bipolar 1

I saw the Doc yesterday anf finally got some meds.Right  away the anxiety less,so thats great.heres what I have:

5 Zyprexa in the morning

1500 Depakote at bedtime

20 Lexapro at bedtime

Im new to this. any insights into this combo you may have would be welcome.I know it will change, but any help is welcome at this point. ;)

The Lexapro concerns me, but given my experience with antidepressants, that's probably just me.  Many people have them worked into their medication regimen with no problem.  Myself... I can't go near them. 

I'm glad that you're already starting to feel some improvement.  Work closely with your doc with any side effects and make sure he knows how any medication is affecting you, good or bad. That would be my only advice.

Looks like a decent combo to me.  When I was on 5 mgs zyprexa I improved

right away.  My only concern would be you starting you on such a high dose of

depakote.  Be sure to get your levels checked often at first.  At 750 mgs I went

toxic on it.  Don't let that scare ya though cuz I am weird and VERY med sensitive.

Good luck with this combo, I hope it works well for you.

IMF,  Welcome to the club!

Thanks for supporting your local pharmacy!

Remember to be very patient.  It takes 6 -8 weeks for new neurons to grow in your brain.  Just take anything good that happens till then as a bonus.

If you have any problems remembering to take your meds, think about getting a small weekly pill box at the pharmacy. They come in various sizes and styles and are inexpensive.

Good luck

A.M.

Hi, I can offer info regarding depakote and zyprexa per my daughter, who is currently in a psych hosp (delusions/etc, and meds adjustments)She's 17.