CrazyBoards.org

BP diagnosis change?

Hi,

I guess I'm pretty new at this MI game, only been playing it for 2 years and spent the first four months of that with a diagnosis of major depression. Took effexor, flipped out. Sent to outpatient psychiatric clinic for further evaluation. For the eight months I was there I never received any indication as to what my diagnosis was. Eventually took myself off all meds and left the clinic. Returned to GP three months later complaining of depression. Was referred to new psychiatrist and started new med regime, including lithium, risperdal, and clonazepam. Continue seeing this psychiatrist who doesn't seem to hesitate using the words "bipolar disorder" (even though she never mentioned 1 or 2) when talking about my condition. Meds come, meds go, changes are made - but I wasn't expecting this one.

When I was at my GP's on Wednesday I had him fill out a form for me and there was a spot on it for him to list my diagnosis. Well, he wrote "schizoaffective." Apparently that's the consensus he and my pdoc have come to. He explained a little bit about the condition and where I fit in the definition and we kind of left it at that.

But it's been bothering me. I want to know what warranted the change from a BP diagnosis to this new one. Something new that I told pdoc? I'm really confused. I don't know if I feel comfortable bringing it up at our appointment next Thursday.

;)

Hi,