CrazyBoards.org

klonopin long term

I have been taking benzo's for many years now.. At one time I got seriously hooked on xanax and had to check into a rehab to get off them... A time I surely want to forget...

My question to the community is this: Since my Xanax incident I have been afraid of long term use of Benzo's... Has anyone taken Klonopin for say longer than two years or is there a time frame of treatment???  I have been using it for over five years but off and on.. I was switching up to drugs like ativan. I am finally getting to a point of stability from all the mood stablizers and SSRI's. Klonopin  is for really bad days and sleep.. I take only one a day but occasionally have needed two.. 1mg dosage I know this dont sound like much but it seems like when I dont take it, my body craves it.... Of course it all could just be brain noise or why else would I be here..lol

Any comments would be appreciate!

I've been taking Klonopin every day for over ten years to prevent panic attacks and smooth out the jagged edges of Bipolar. The dose has been as high as 5 mgs; my current dose is 1 mg. I doubt if I've spent more than two minutes worrying about being addicted. The incessant gibberish about "A worldwide epidemic of benzo abuse!" fades to white noise after a while. It's so nice to be able to go out in public or sleep for six consecutive hours.   

Do this: compare and contrast the potentially lethal hellscapes of panic disorder and Bipolar-induced insomnia with the necessity of taking a few little pills every day.

Yeah, that's a tough call. 

My hunch: benzos get a bad rap because a lot of people take them who shouldn't. Only a seriously crazy person would take a benzo every day for years (because only a seriously crazy person needs a benzo that long).  ;)

In my own case, episodes of anxiety are like mania or depression: if I cut the meds too much...it's baaaaack. Klonopin is best compared to a silver bullet. I'll be taking it when I'm 90.