CrazyBoards.org

Ativan - How much is too much?

I've been extremely anxious at work the last few weeks while waiting for a new drug to kick in (Latuda). Today I took 2mg of Ativan. My prescription is 0.5 prn. And yesterday I took 1mg. Do I need to worry about this?

I've been extremely anxious at work the last few weeks while waiting for a new drug to kick in (Latuda). Today I took 2mg of Ativan. My prescription is 0.5 prn. And yesterday I took 1mg. Do I need to worry about this?

Throughout the day you took that much or at one time?  I'm not good with prn meds, I have a lot of anxiety and end up taking more than I should.  When I took too much ativan I got depressed and started sobbing. My pdoc wanted me to have someone dispense my meds for me but I don't need to do that.

Sorry that I don't know an answer to your question.

One every hour or so would be too much for me.  One every four hours is probably more in line with what your pdoc meant for you to take.  One way of getting a ballpark figure is to see how many pills you were given and divide it by the number of days it's supposed to last.  So, if you have 60 pills and it's a 30 day supply, your pdoc is thinking you'll need two per day, give or take a few in either direction.  The easiest thing to do might be to call your pdoc and ask.  

If you dissolve it under your tongue it will get into your system more quickly.  You might want to give that a try next time rather than taking more and more of them.