CrazyBoards.org

Sign in to follow this  

This is an education-related post technically, but I'm posting it in the employment forums for a reason.

One being that I did my BS degree in 2004, and a combination of physical and mental illnesses rendered me... get this... "unemployable" by 2009.  Not kidding; I basically got kicked out of a scientific recruiting office back in 2009 due to not having worked since 2007.  Lesson learned from that? Don't get sick, mentally or physically, especially in a labor market depression like we're having now.

Well okay, that's not practical for any of us, is it now?

So I did what any rational guy would do.

I applied to a Master's degree program at the local university town, got in, and am about to complete it (3 weeks left!).  My Master's degree is going to be in Information Sciences, which is roughly where Computer Science, Sociology, English Literature, and Mathematics meet.  Yes, they do meet.  As a nod to my Biology major in my BS degree, I am doing the "chemical information" specialization offered within my Master's degree.

But then, I went through lots and lots of job interviews.  One would think that after having proved oneself by going through the work involved in a Master's degree (and the one I did is known for being particularly time-consuming, work-intensive, and difficult), that it would prove one's employability.

Not the case, apparently, as I just wasn't employable enough compared to my peers, all of whom had no "job gap".  Many of these peers also had less job experience than I did.  It's just that companies will rather hire someone with no background rather than someone with an existing but slightly risky background.  If by risky, I mean "has gotten ill once".  </rant>

So again, I did what any rational guy would do.