CrazyBoards.org

New to benzos, starting Klonopin, questions

Well, I say new to benzos, but Restoril is really just for sleep and didn't seem to have much other effect.

My new pdoc started me on 1mg 2x day of Klonopin, and I'm not sure what to make of that dosage. It seems a lot of people are on .25-.5 or .5-1mg, and I'm on 2mg a day. He's using it to help counter dystonia and anxiety. So far, it doesn't seem to have a pronounced anxiolytic effect, but I wonder if that's related to the Abilify leaving my body (stupid 72h half-life, roughly 18 days for it to disappear) which was causing major insomnia and anxiety.

My body is generally receptive to average/standard dosing of all meds (EXCEPT AAPs) so I am curious how other people have responded at that dosing.This stuff is so confusing, and I've read about how benzos can be very powerful, but I have no experience.

Everyone is different in how they respond to benzos.  Just because your body may be sensitive to other drugs does not mean that it will be sensitive to benzos. 

Yes, benzos are powerful drugs.  Personally, i think 2mg per day is too high for someone who is just starting on them.  When I first started the doc had me on .5 mg once per day.  For most people who start, I think once per day dosing is standard because Klonopin tends to last all day.

However, I'm not your pdoc.  Heck, I'm no doc at all.  I have my own opinions about benzos and how I feel they are over-prescribed.  But your pdoc surely knows more about what's in your best than we do.

If you're hesitant to take it twice per day, try to take 0.5 once per day and see how that goes.  There certainly is no harm in reducing the prescribed dose, so long as it benefits you.

Good luck.

Doc prescribed my Klon PRN, technically at a max of 2mg per day--so, basically what you're taking, I'm assuming. I'm using it mainly for anxiety and racing thoughts, and it does a pretty good job of nipping certain symptoms in the bud if I catch them early enough.