CrazyBoards.org

The last antipsychotic I took was ziprasidone. It had some nasty side-effects, including bringing my menstrual cycle to a grinding halt. That was ultimately the reason that I was taken off of it. My period returned, but it took nearly a year before it approached anything I could call "normal". Ironically, the gynecologist didn't seem to give a shit - the only person who was alarmed by it was my pdoc.

I'm working toward getting back on the medication bandwagon again, and I'm worried about premature ovarian failure. The health consequences of hormonal imbalances are farther reaching than sterility.

I'm not trying to side-step medication, which I legitimately need. I'm actually looking for reassurance. I know this is all stuff to discuss with the pdoc, once I can actually get in to see them, but I have had some bad experiences with pdocs being dismissive of my concerns regarding medication and side-effects. Unfortunately, not all of them are as well-informed about the side-effects and health consequences of certain medications as they really ought to be.

I'm 29 years old. I've been having night sweats lately, which is disconcerting, but my periods are regular. I don't have health insurance, so having my FSH levels tested right now isn't really feasible. I won't refuse medication over it, I'd just like to know if anybody else has experience with this.

Changes to the menstrual cycle associated with antipsychotics are usually from hyperprolactinemia, which usually will not cause premature ovarian failure. If your gyno can't induce a period with Provera, then you've got problems, but a messed up cycle from meds is usually nothing a little hormonal birth control can't fix.