CrazyBoards.org

My introduction

Hi,

I'm a newbie, been lurking for a bit. By profession I am a computer programmer, though at heart I am a starving artist.

I was recently DX with  bipolar disorder and GAD, and the doc mentioned borderline traits. I was put on lexapro and seroquel, the seroquel then being switched to geodon. Then 2mg Xanax XR was added for anxiety.

I know I'm no beautiful and unique snowflake, so I know what I am going through is not unique or unusual, but I just want to know the coping methods you use to deal with these issues:

1) Which of the masks that I wear is me? I don't think any of them are me.

2) I don't know what I want to do, who I like or dislike, I simply satisfy obligations which I create for myself (accepting personal invitations, going to misc. appointments). When (if ever) will I enjoy things again? When (if ever) will I know what I really want/enjoy?

3) When/if I figure this crap out, what if everything I have ever done, every decision, has been made based on mental illness? What if I don't like the people around me or they don't like me (once I figure out who/what that is)?

I have been sick since I was 12, I am afraid like Hal9000 was afraid when Dave was taking his innards out in 2001, Space Oddysey. Any encouraging words for someone new to treatment?

Thanks so much for any words.

~opheliah

1) Which of the masks that I wear is me? I don't think any of them are me.

2) I don't know what I want to do, who I like or dislike, I simply satisfy obligations which I create for myself (accepting personal invitations, going to misc. appointments). When (if ever) will I enjoy things again? When (if ever) will I know what I really want/enjoy?

3) When/if I figure this crap out, what if everything I have ever done, every decision, has been made based on mental illness? What if I don't like the people around me or they don't like me (once I figure out who/what that is)?