CrazyBoards.org

I am a disabled vet with depression and PTSD issues.  I had a heart attack last Sunday and on Tuesday after I was moved to the cardiac step down unit, my girlfriend called me to break up with me.  I am now consumed with thoughts of dying, and dying alone like my uncle did.  I am now convinced that I am unlikable, let alone lovable.  I have thought about killing myself and have cut myself a few times.  I looked for help and was told "this is temporary, just hang tough and move on".  This sucks and I am really hating life.  I think I would be better off dead.

You would not be better off dead! More people would miss you terribly than you are even aware about! How would your family and friends feel? You are irreplaceable. Girlfriends come and go until you find the right one. But suicide is permanent.

Please try and reach out for help again.

Make an appointment with a good therapist to help you through this rough time.

If the VA won't talk to you, call your congressman's office and ask for help.  If they won't go to bat for you, call your senator's office.   There is help available for vets, but unfortunately you have to be persistent.

I'm sorry depression is kicking your ass.  It's common for deep depression to set in after a heart attack, and you have a double whammy with the PTSD.  Please try to get help.  Everyone deserves to have a good quality of life.

olga

Those that tell you to "hang tough and move on" are likely not people who have a solid understanding of what it feels like to grapple with depression and PTSD.  Unfortunately, a lot of people think one can will oneself out of depression, which is not the case.

I am sorry that you have not gotten the help and support that you need and deserve.  There are professionals out there, though, who can understand what you are going through.  I hope you keep advocating for yourself and seeking help, because you are worthy of a better life.