CrazyBoards.org

Night Eating Syndrome

I've been eating in my sleep for over 8 months now. It could be related to anxiety & medications but I'm not certain. Has anyone else experienced this? It's driving me crazy b/c I'm unhappy with my weight  and trying to lose some. It's counterproductive for me and I can't stop. I've even put chains and locks on my cupboards. I've read about it and it's (loosely) considered an eating disorder, although it's not in the latest DSM. It's making me obsess about my weight more. Everyone says that I look fine, but I don't think so. I know it's the disorder (history of anorexia/bulimia) talking but I still want to change how I look. :(

I feel what you're going through. I woke up in front of the fridge when I was on Seroquel all the time with, like, a chicken leg in my hand. People think you look the same, while you have to keep buying bigger pants.

This may be a stupid solution, but it worked for me. Frozen dinners only in your house, or stuff you have to prepare. You'll wake up enough to be able to stop yourself. Also, keep fruit where you can get it, it will keep the hunger away.

Good luck!

Ambien and Seroquel did this to me. I still have some residual episodes. It is horrid. The border between Night Eating Syndrome and binge eating disorder seems thin to me. I've been dx'ed with binge eating disorder, but all my binges happen at night. No longer in my sleep (hence the change from night eating syndrome), but I still struggle with "needing"to eat before I go to bed.

Ambien and Seroquel did this to me. I still have some residual episodes. It is horrid. The border between Night Eating Syndrome and binge eating disorder seems thin to me. I've been dx'ed with binge eating disorder, but all my binges happen at night. No longer in my sleep (hence the change from night eating syndrome), but I still struggle with "needing"to eat before I go to bed.