CrazyBoards.org

Hi! I'm new with question about psychosis

I was diagnosed with bipolar 1 almost 3 years ago this summer when I was 21 about 4 months after giving birth to my 2nd daughter. Before that I was diagnosed with depression and anxiety when I was about 15 after my brother was killed in a car accident which looking back on I was probably having manic episodes already. I also have ADHD. I recently just gotten out of the hospital for a manic episode triggered by family drama in the middle of a medication change which was obviously not a good combo. I thought one of my husband's ex-clients was trying to kill him so I decided to try to off her first. Nothing actually happened. My very vigilant husband was able to get me help before I was able to do anything. I'm really glad to have found this board. I don't know anyone with any form of bipolar and while my family is incredibly supportive they don't really understand at all. I feel like I scare them when I talk about it sometimes.

I'm still trying to get on the right meds combo again. I was taken off of Lithium because of my serum levels. I was doing fine without it for a while until all the family stuff started happening. I was just released yesterday after a 6 day stay. I don't feel like I was ready to be released. This is my first episode that my daughters will be old enough to remember and I don't want them to remember. We have them staying with their grandparents. I don't feel manic anymore but I'm still having hallucinations and delusions. I keep having panic attacks. Can you be psychotic without being manic? I don't remember having psychotic features with my previous manic episodes and I'm really scared right now :( Could I really be schizophrenic? 

First of all, welcome to CB! :) I'm so sorry you had a particularly horrible manic episode. It sounds like it was really rough. I'm glad you're feeling somewhat better. I hope you stick around.