CrazyBoards.org

Strategies for dealing with driving anxiety?

So a friend invited my kids and I to join her family on a trip to her parents beach house. I've been there before, and it's a beautiful house in a beautiful coastal area that I've always enjoyed. It would be all good, but the down side is I'll have to drive the 6.5 hour trip myself this time, which I've never done before, and driving long distance gives me huge amounts of anxiety (and I've never done a trip that long). I get particularly freaked out about some major highways, including one i will have to take for part of the journey. We leave on Saturday and I am starting to dread the trip, to the point where I've got a constant loop in my head that something terrible is going to happen on the trip. I need to find some way (in addition to Klonopin) to short circuit the anxiety so that I can get through the whole thing. My friend's SIL will also be with us and has offered to do some of the driving if I need her to, but I barely know her, and will feel embarrassed if I have to rely on her more than a little. I'm wondering if anyone who's stressed out by driving (or anyone else) has any strategies for dealing with long trips? Or for turning off the loop in my head that says something bad is going to happen? I'd settle for an encouraging pat on the head. TIA.

Yes, I would prefer not to drive.

My family lives about 4 hours from me. I hate the drive. So I always have 1 planned stop usually get something to drink or an ice cream (totally reward* yourself for driving). And then its 1/2 over. Only other stops are if a pee break is needed. 

Reward can be something non-food too if you prefer.

I always have to listen to happy cheerful 1980's pop when Im driving. What comes out of the stereo can affect one when driving. This drive is not the time to start Rob Zombie (unless he calms you down).

Good Luck,

db