CrazyBoards.org

So...I'm pretty sure I have undiagnosed OCD...

So, I'm about 80% sure I have OCD, if I don't I may have GAD.  To complicate matters, I'm currently a grad student in Counseling Psych, and I have three main fears surrounding seeking treatment:  

1.)  I live in a pretty rural area, and I want to practice here.  I'm afraid if I see someone I will get labeled as "crazy."  Maybe I'll want a job at the clinic I visit, and they will not want to hire an obviously "crazy" person like myself.  

2.)  I'm afraid I might just have grad student disorder--like maybe I'm just a faker, and I just want the attention, but then I'll also think, maybe being exposed to and constantly discussing mental disorders and diagnosing is somehow rubbing off on me, like I'm catching these disorders.  I know this is completely illogical, because I've had these thoughts and behaviors since long before I started grad school.

3.)  I'm just terrified to talk about my obsessions and compulsions out loud--they're odd.

I also know I am being insanely hypocritical--how can I expect my future clients to seek treatment if I can't do it myself, but I'm stuck.

Edited by gladys

I responded to your other thread, but will respond here as well.

I think its very important that you seek treatment.  Think about it, would you be a effective counselor if you haven't tried to deal with your own issues?  I know its frightening to think about talking about your fears, but I can assure you that a good therapist will understand and likely be able to help you.

So, this is going to sound like an incredibly stupid question coming from a future mental health professional, but how should I even start--like, literally when I call a psychologist on the phone, I don't even know what to say.  This stuff has been happening under the radar for so long that I feel paralyzed.