CrazyBoards.org

Managing Mania

I don't know if anyone will remember me but I used to post here quite a bit. Then I felt I had to leave for a while because I was so embarassed about something I wrote while I was briefly off my meds (yes, I know, I know) Anyway I hope you've either forgotten about it or can forgive me for it.

The point is I'm getting really high and I'm heading for trouble. I'm doing my best to keep a lid on it, but not having a great deal of success so far. Here's what I'm trying:

Putting on slow, calm music and making myself concentrate on jigsaw puzzles or colouring.

Trying to eat twice a day.

Lying in bed and consciously relaxing even if I can't sleep, so at least my body gets some rest.

Minimising driving.

Avoiding shops as much as possible.

Staying away from most of the forums I normally visit so I don't get into arguments or end up revealing too much personal information.

Any other ideas?!

Dunno - Sorry, I am new at working on my treatment .. Although not new at suffering. 

I am definitely seeing my manic signs kicking in again though. I think it's the time of the year and all of the sun or something. 

One other thing for me I notice immediately is my absolute inability to sleep whereas before my meds were helping my crash on a regular schedule. 

Hey, Werehorse-I wondered where you'd gone. Welcome back.

I think you should call your doctor, too. You're not on that much medication right now. Did Seroquel do something awful to you, or could you take it again, at least while you're going though this? Increasing my Seroquel is usually what my pdoc does when I start getting zippy. So something to calm you down might be a good plan.