CrazyBoards.org

New to admitting crazy

Hello, 

My name is Nikki and I am new to admitting I may have some sort of mental issue.  Please bear with me I jump around A LOT.  I have always know there was something unusual about my brain other than anxiety and I have a son who has been diagnosed for years with several tags, but I never sought help for my own issues.  Over the last 2 years my husband and I have been seeing a marriage counselor and we joke that is my counseling session and my husband tags along for support and she has been guiding me through some of this.  Recently my sons pediatrician said we needed to have him see a new pdoc (his retired a few years ago) for medication.  We made an appointment with a Dr and in the first session he described adult ADHD and I started crying.  It was not the first time it had been suggested to me but it was the first time it hit home.  I talked about this with my councilor and she suggested making an appointment of my own and that she had been waiting for me to come to this realization.  I made my own appointment and within a 15 minute session the pdoc "diagnosed" me.  He put me on strattera and made me an appointment 2 months out.  I felt horrible side effects from the meds and called after a few days.  The nurse told me to take them at night to help curve the side effects so I tried that.  I felt HORRIBLE.  I lost interest in things I love and I became Super Bitch.  I was not myself at all.  When I missed one pill I have several anxiety attacks the following day and couldn't stand myself.  I called the Dr and the nurse made me feel like crap, like I was making it up and being ridiculous.  She said stop taking them and see you at your appointment IN A MONTH.  My councilor suggested calling back and insisting on a new med or an appointment within a week.  I did.  The stupid nurse made me feel like a drug seeker and like I was making it up again then talked to the Dr. He called in a prescription for Vyvance.  My insurance