CrazyBoards.org

Bipolar "without" mania/hypomania?

Hi, I'm pretty new to the bipolar world and curious about what others experience, especially beyond the "textbook" symptoms.

A little about my history... I've had depression for about 8 years, and was diagnosed with ADHD around the same time (mostly inattentive form). I take Adderall for ADHD and it's a godsend for SOME of the symptoms; although mostly giving me a little more motivation/energy and helping my mood a bit--not sure it does much for the "self regulation" issues.

Pretty much nothing has worked for depression; maybe about 10 different antidepressants, therapy, etc. Depression also got markedly worse after the birth of my daughter and has never improved (20 months ago). After the typical AD's did nothing at all, my doctor tried lamictal. It's the only med that's helped to an extent--it works GREAT for irritability, and that's about it. I'm still severely depressed, but find if I don't take even a single dose, I get extremely moody, reactive and irritable.

Every doctor/therapist I've had the last 8 years has always immediately evaluated for bipolar symptoms and just as quickly ruled it out, and I never suspected it either as I didn't think I had ANY symptoms of the mania side.

I saw a new GP yesterday and he was very thorough in assessing my symptoms... I was very surprised when he immediately suggested bipolar I or cyclothymia. When I asked about the manic symptoms, he listed my severe impulsivity (spending sprees mostly), irritability/anger, and that some (or even all) of my "ADHD" symptoms may be bipolar symptoms. A few other tip offs to him--my depression/mood being so much more severe after having my baby, and the fact that 1) NO antidepressants helped and 2) although it doesn't control all my symptoms, the only thing that DID help was a mood stabilizer (lamictal).