CrazyBoards.org

Grief Over A Lost Relationship

I am going to be seeking therapy for this.

They say time heals all wounds. For some of us, that is not true.

I had a two year relationship with a girl when I was in high school. The relationship ended when I graduated and I am not over her.

Since the breakup I have thought about her every day, several times a day. And I daydream about her. And she has always been the exclusive object of my sexual fantasies.

Daydreaming about her gives me the feeling of being loved, wanted, close and bonded. But just as often it makes me feel sad, loss and yearning.

One detail: this relationship ended 27 years ago

Another detail: I have never had a romantic relationship since. Not even one date.

Anyone out there been through something similar? Been stuck and you can't get unstuck? Can't stop grieving the loss? Any words of wisdom?

Edited by y58

I have spent years grieving and not letting go, not that many admittedly.

There comes a point where the real object of the 'love' is yourself and how the love makes you feel. I wonder how much of her you accurately remember and how long a love can go on for without any interaction or real life involvement. It may well be that while you are idealizing who she used to be, she has changed a great deal over 27 years, maybe she would be unrecognizable. I have no idea how to proceed, with therapy, probably.

I am sorry you are hurting though, I know you have tried to wait this out.

There comes a point where the real object of the 'love' is yourself and how the love makes you feel. I wonder how much of her you accurately remember and how long a love can go on for without any interaction or real life involvement. It may well be that while you are idealizing who she used to be, she has changed a great deal over 27 years, maybe she would be unrecognizable. I have no idea how to proceed, with therapy, probably.