CrazyBoards.org

Greetings folks

I was wondering if any of you were stuck in a similar situation....I have been a pothead for about 15 years (started at 19, quit at 34), smoking a lot of very potent weed all the time (apart from the 8 hours I was stuck at work/school), while dealing with mental issues.

Back then, all I ever wanted to do was smoke dope, get high, make myself comfy and ignore the outside world. Being a very introverted introvert and suffering from social anxiety, pot allowed me to stay within my comfort zone and not having to socialize apart from the occasional toke among friends. So I smoked and smoked, passed my MBA and smoked, found various jobs and smoked, got married to a stoner, basically my entirely life evolved only around the next joint, the next high.

After getting a divorce from said stoner, going through a massive booze and coke binge for a year and realizing that all of it made no sense, I started questioning my choices. I realized that I studied what was easiest for me to study, not what I wanted to study. I took on jobs that allowed me to pay for my addiction, none of these jobs were dangerous or illicit etc, but still, I never even thought about having a career. Then I met someone who showed me that there was more to life than being high. That was a year ago. And I have not touched a single joint since, and did it all on my own (no rehab).