CrazyBoards.org

I made a decision last night I cannot work anymore. My mental health is declining, my faith in my recovering is shattering, and the whole time at work I am a mess. I will be applying for disability for my bipolar...any advice, and how do I bring this up to my doc and counselor? My mood is low and my anxiety is high. I have been in this prison too long, its time to be free to finally have time and help to recover.

I agree with phoenix, just tell them it's too much for you to handle. I've been working the same job for over 9 years and last month for the first time in my life, I went out on disability. I'm now in an IOP, and I feel guilty for not working, but I know deep down, I cannot handle it right now. I'm being really honest with my doc and therapist and they can tell I can't do it right now.

ONe of the major keys is to have tons of documented and collected medical history.  Your current meds, previous meds, how long you've been on med, the doctors you've seen, the dx and notes, any IP information.  Also, if have your insurance company release your medical records, your pharmacy, and anyone else who might have a scrap of medical info about you, including your employer.  

Work history is also key, they look for a pastern of jumping from job to joy and to see if you did so in the same or different field.  Whether you were fired or quit

They also go by the date that you were no longer able to work, so if you show up to work tomorrow, to them, obviously, your last day of being able to work would be after that date.