CrazyBoards.org

Physical symptoms after an episode

I've been building up to a major depressive episode for a few weeks.  Too much stress and trying to take too much on with school and side projects.  Long story short, there was a school shooting in my home town.  For some reason, this triggered a down spiral that has been going on since Monday.  Last night, I had a major breakdown but my loving partners managed to talk me out of it enough to get some sleep.  Today I woke up and I feel like I've been hit by a train.  Muscle aches, gut ache, headache...I feel almost feverish but I know I'm not.

Seems like every injury I've ever had is acting up...ugh.  Anyone else have experiences like this? 

I've had a few anxiety attacks that leave me feeling like I've been a punching bag.   The shoulders for some reason get so tensed up that its bad during and after.   I'm new to all this so I'm interested in what you find out.

I've felt like I have the flu after a lot of stress. For me it seems to be connected with adrenalin - the more 'fire up' I feel in crisis mode, the worse I feel later. 

Head and muscle aches are common somatic symptoms of anxiety and depression, and my friend told me there's lots of serotonin receptors in the gut. It's pretty interesting how intrinsically mind and body are connected.

I wonder if trying some progressive muscle relaxation would help with the symptoms you're having.

I get aches and pains, and I feel like I constantly have the flu when I am depressed. Part of why I feel so achy is that I don't get out of bed, I think. But there are definitely physical, I don't know, side effects? I think the the physical feeling of being unwell is called being somatic. Maybe I am misunderstanding that word, and if that is the case, hopefully someone will correct me.

• 2 weeks later...