CrazyBoards.org

Circumnavigation

Magellan is my cat. He likes to walk around me, circumnavigation. 

I'm 40. My psychiatrist has diagnosed me as Bipolar 2. I've been on meds for about two years, and they've started really working in the last 6 months. 

I'm an artist. It's not the most lucrative career. I've tried more normal careers and they never last long. I taught college for 8 years until I couldn't deal with it anymore. I'm doing OK, my work is beginning to pay off in terms of success, and I'm getting on top of my emotional rollercoaster ride. It's actually a boring rollercoaster, it just kinda goes up and down. It's nice to finally realize that it is just a boring rollercoaster ride, it gives me a little perspective so that I don't get completely engulfed by it all. 

I think I've always been this way. I tried to hang myself in third grade, and again when I was 19. In highschool, after my father died, I had long bouts of depression which would last up to 6 months or so. In college they got worse and I ended up taking Zoloft, which lifted me out of the depression. When I turned 30 I had to take care of my mother with dementia. She died two years later. I began teaching college in that period. I've always had a "power through" approach, but that was a bit much, and my head kinda exploded and I began the dreaded cycling of Bipolar II, electric boogaloo. 

Except that I didn't realize that, I just couldn't understand why things would be absolutely amazing one day and absolutely pointless the next. It was tiring and frustrating, and I began think of suicide, a lot. I have a good friend who is a retired psychologist, and he finally pushed me try meds.