CrazyBoards.org

Bipolar Depression and Antidepressants

From what I understand, antidepressants should not be used for bipolar patients since they induce mania and it's also unclear if they actually work at all (someone correct me if I'm wrong about this, I'm not a doctor). I'm at the moment in a lower mood state (moderate depression for several weeks, mild depression for maybe 2 months), I'm dragging myself along with action plans, but it's getting very frustrating, I'm sick of it. I have told my doctor about the current depression, he said it would have to be much much worse for him to even consider antidepressants given my history, he said he can't give a number but in his opinion the risk for switching would be way too high to outweigh the potential benefits. I fit into the relatively stereotypical BP1 bin with very severe 4-5 months manias with some psychosis (not always) and full remission after episodes.

What experiences do others here have with bipolar depression and antidepressants?

When have your doctors considered you miserable enough to take them?

I'm schizoaffective and my bipolar is NOS/2. I was originally diagnosed MDD and started on antidepressants. Antidepressants don't make me hypo/manic. Celexa made me agitated and panicky and what I think was kinda mixed though.

Generally, antidepressants just do nothing for me. I feel absolutely no positive effect from them. For example, I've been on Effexor XR for about 2 years. I was on it for 3 weeks at the maximum dose (300 mg) and MAYBE felt SLIGHTLY better. But still pretty much nothing. Then, we added Abilify and my depression disappeared in three days flat. Abilify made me hypomanic for about a week, then that settled down and I felt stable (mood wise). Then I was diagnosed BP after fessing up my hypomanic symptoms (past and Abilify induced).