CrazyBoards.org

Bipolar and high-stress jobs?

Does anybody here have a high-stress job and bipolar?

I am a first grade teacher in a very impoverished area with a high violence rate, and although I absolutely love my job, I'm worried about my MI and job long-term.

I have been IP for suicide attempts twice five years ago, but have had well-managed symptoms since then (yay lamictal!) 

However, recently, I have become seriously depressed and don't know what I would have done if I didn't have two weeks off for winter break. I'm dreading going back if my depression doesn't back off. For the past month, all my energy has been spent on just getting to work, trying to make it through the day, and immediately going to sleep when I come home. 

I forgot what this was like, since it's been so long, and it's absolutely horrible. I have an appointment with my pdoc in a week.

I love teaching and couldn't imagine having another career. Anyone out there with a similar situation? How did you deal with it? 

I understand where you are coming from. It IS high stress!  I substitute as an educational aid. I work mainly with kids k-8 in resource (special ed) and kids on the autistic spectrum. It is so draining sometimes. I barely worked last month I wasn't functioning well.  The behavioral management with the middle school kids is tough.  You get to see what "hands off parenting" looks like.  I was offered a permanent position, but I like/need the flexibility that goes with subbing.  They don't realize that I have a Dr.'s appt. (pdoc) every 3-4 weeks.  I did disclose to the secretary that I have a "chronic health condition" that requires me to see my Dr. on a regular basis.