CrazyBoards.org

It's not working for me

Hey guys i am new to therapy this is my 4th visit now and i dont really get the whole point of therapy. I am currently doing CBT but it seems whenever i go in all i seem to talk about is random bullshit.

I have been told i have to go and i want to make the most of my sessions but i don't know how to?

What should i be doing at therapy? because to be honest i have no idea what i'm doing when i go there.

What is it that you would like to change in your life?

What is not working out for you in your life and why?

What reasons do the people around you give for you going to therapy and do they have a point in all of that?

Getting a new career started

My life financial state went bad after a g/f stole $5000 and my house belongings off me

They want me to go to therapy to talk about my problems but i don't get why telling my therapist would help in any of that

They want me to go to therapy to talk about my problems but i don't get why telling my therapist would help in any of that

It won't, but it will help the way you deal with that. You know the old saying, if you can't change the situation, change yourself to meet the situation.

It won't, but it will help the way you deal with that. You know the old saying, if you can't change the situation, change yourself to meet the situation.

But why should i change myself to please others? Shouldn't people accept me for who i am?

But why should i change myself to please others? 

Therapy isn't about changing yourself to please others.

It's about learning and practicing new ways to manage the challenges in your life so that YOU are more pleased with yourself and have a higher quality of life.

But why should i change myself to please others? 

Therapy isn't about changing yourself to please others.

It's about learning and practicing new ways to manage the challenges in your life so that YOU are more pleased with yourself and have a higher quality of life.