CrazyBoards.org

I came off a low dose of Mirtazapine and have been insanely restless and agitated for 4 weeks. I'm extremely sensitive to medication, and yes, I realize a low dose of Mirtazapine could "never" do this (per the clueless psych nurse I saw at emergency), but I have never (in 10 years of depression) experienced such intense, painful restlessness before. I am literally spending all day in bed writhing/occasionally online.

I can't take benzos (paradoxical reactions), Cogentin didn't help, beta blockers helped slightly but side-effects are awful, antihistamines are bad news.

I've been to emergency twice now and couldn't see a psychiatrist. GP is out-of-ideas; he wants to refer me to a psychiatrist, but I can't wait. I suggested Lyrica, but he said it could take a while to kick in -- I thought it worked immediately though?

I don't have bipolar, but am prone to irritability/agitation anyway, and nothing's worked for me in the past, so I thought a mood-stabilizer could be worth trying.

Would any provide quick relief (without too many side-effects)?

Just a thought, have you ever tried an AAP (even a small amount of one)? Like risperidone or quetiapine maybe? Clearly, I'm not a medical professional and can't say whether any med will work for any given symptoms, but I have found that most AAPs (except Abilify, for me) significantly help with irritability and agitation. Then again, I have BP1 so I have no idea if our situations are similar. I hope you can find some relief. 

Hey, thanks for your reply .. I've tried a couple of AAPs at low doses, but they tend to make me more anxious and/or induce akathisia .. like I say, I'm really sensitive to meds and even 12.5mg of Seroquel gave me akathisia.

Since what I'm experiencing now feels very akin to akathisia, I suspect an AAP would just make it worse. 

Edited by brokenchordcansing