CrazyBoards.org

Do employment agencies guarantee fast job placement?

I have MI and I've been applying to jobs (any job now) everyday for the past year. My major is graphic design (but that field is very limited).

A therapist told me to try an employment agency, so I can avoid the special accommodation on the application form, according to the therapist. Do employment agencies guarantee fast, 100% job placement? Do I have to pay them?

i used to work at two very different employment agencies. some do require that they take a stipend out of your check as a fee of their service. some are free. you have to call around.

however, most agencies work on a temp to hire basis. which means you're actually employed by the agency for whatever period of time the company and agency agree on. NOTE: you may or may not have access to health benefits during this time. this is also very important to ask. this also means you may be paid lower when you are temp, and get paid higher when/if you go perm with the company and find out if they have benefits. 

also, do your homework. some specialize in day laborers, some in tech, some in administrative, some in a little of everything.

my advice is stick to larger ones that are well known in the area. they will have the best connections to companies. do you live in the US? i can give you some names to look up. 

Also, your prospective employer generally can't ask if you will need accomadations.

http://www.eeoc.gov/facts/jobapplicant.html#potential

Discussing Accommodation to Perform the Job

15. May an employer ask applicants on an application form or during an interview whether they will need reasonable accommodation to perform the job?

Generally, no. An employer cannot ask all applicants whether they would need reasonable accommodation to perform a job because the answer to this question is likely to reveal whether an applicant has a disability.