CrazyBoards.org

So depressed after working out...

Does this happen to anyone else? I went to a Zumba class today and it was a great workout (more intense than I thought) but always with any type of exercise afterwards this big wave of depression/mixed state like feelings come over me. Like, I have energy, but I just hate everyone and feel so uncomfortable. Restless almost. And I was definitely exhausted, it's not like I had more energy to "burn" before the class was over. The whole act usually feels like a chore when it's happening, then afterward I feel awful. Am I not working hard enough to get that endorphin rush people get addicted to?

I've been walking daily for 8 years, and I have never experienced that rush.  I joined a gym and went 3 times a week for 3 years, and never had an endorphin rush.

If I didn't know reliable people who swear they have experienced it, I would tend to think it's a bunch of manure.  However, people I trust have told me it happens to them when they jog and do other exercises.

The one thing I've learned after exercising unwillingly for 8 years is that you have to do it because it's good for your heart and lungs and muscles.  It would be nice if it made us feel better, but that doesn't happen to everyone.  So keep at it because it's good for you, but if you're like me, you finish the class feeling sweaty and uncomfortable and you think "Thank god that's over with for today."

olga

i'm not necessarily depressed after working out but i've never gotten a rush or felt super energized afterwards. i just feel more tired - definitely more sweaty - and glad its over. i'm sure that improves my mood overall in the long run but i always get frustrated when people talk about this amazing rush of endorphins. i don't get it. 

The endorphin rush isn't a guarantee. It happens sometimes. It's more of an occasional reminder rather than something to rely on.