CrazyBoards.org

Hi, and stuff.

Hi...I'm a 32 yr old female, with past diagnosis and treatment of anxiety/panic attacks and depression. Apologies in advance for the length of this post - I'm a writer, and I tend to be wordy. I had written out my "back story" and realized it was pretty much a novel, so I cut out a lot of specifics and got it to this:  I went through a variety of anti-depressants and other meds in the past but am currently not taking anything. My experiences with mental health treatment years ago were, for the most part, less than helpful (the results ranged from "good enough to get by" to "it's making me more tense and I can probably hack it better on my own"). I think I got pretty unlucky in the professionals I worked with, and ended up feeling like they were a waste of time/money. I should have kept looking for someone new, but I was too self-conscious to start doctor-shopping again and did my best to just brush my problems under the rug. I also had a lot going on in my life and for a while I was so overwhelmed I really couldn't handle any more emotional drama so I kind of "shut down" instead. Now I'm struggling with a resurgence of depression and, to some extent, the anxiety, but am having a hard time making the next step and trying to find some treatment. I guess I'm not exactly sure where to go next.